Alumni engagement and philanthropy


  • Professor Tan Sri Datuk Anuwar Ali – BSc (Econ) 1970; Vice-Chancellor Open University Malaysia (W)
  • Professor Dame Ingrid Allen – MB BCh BAO 1957; Professor Emerita of Neuropathology at Queen's
  • Mary M Burke – MA 1999, PhD 2003; Associate Professor and Director, Honors (English) and Director, Irish Literature Concentration, University of Connecticut (W)
  • Francis Campbell – BA Politics 1992; Vice-Chancellor, St Mary's University, Twickenham, London (SMU); former British Deputy High Commissioner to Pakistan
  • Ray Casserly – PhD Anthropological Studies 2012; Director, CIEE Global Institute, London
  • Professor Ciaran Carson – BA English 1971; Director Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry at Queen’s (W)
  • Rhona Clarke PhD 1992; lecturer in music at St Patrick's College, Dublin City University (W)
  • Professor Art Cosgrove – BA History 1951; former President of University College Dublin
  • Professor Roy Crawford – BSc Mechanical Engineering 1970; current Vice-Chancellor of the University of Waikato in New Zealand (W)
  • John D'Arcy – BSc Psychology 1982; current National Director (Ireland), The Open University
  • Dr Kate (Adela Katharine) Devlin – BA (Archaeology) 1997; MSc Computer Science (1999); Senior Lecturer in Social and Cultural Artificial Intelligence, King’s College London; computer scientist specialising in Artificial intelligence and Human–computer interaction (W)
  • Chua, Soo Pong – PhD Social Anthropology 1982; Senior Consultant SIM University, Singapore; Founding Director of the
    Chinese Opera Institute (COI) (W)
  • Professor Roger Downer – BSc Zoology 1963; former President and Vice-Chancellor at the University of Limerick
  • Professor Marianne Elliott – BA Modern History 1971; Director Institute of Irish Studies, University of Liverpool (W)
  • Dr Raymond G Flood – BSc 1970; mathematician, Emeritus Fellow/member of Continuing Education Dept at Kellogg College, Oxford (W)
  • Carolyn Jess-Cooke BA English (2000), MA Creative Writing (2001) & PhD (2004); poet, novelist & lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of Glasgow (w)
  • Professor David N Hempton – BA (1974), Dean of Harvard Divinity School, honorary graduate and former Professor of Modern History at Queen’s, Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and honorary member Royal Irish Academy (W)

  • Professor Colette Henry – BA Spanish & Italian (1985); PhD Entrepreneurship Education & Training (2000); Head of School of Business & Humanities, Dundalk Institute of Technology (DIT); European Entrepreneurship Education Award (EEEA) recipient 2017 (w);
  • Professor David Livingstone – BA Geography 1975; Professor of Geography & Intellectual History at Queen’s (W)
  • Professor Adrian Long – BSc 1963, PhD 1967 and DSc 1984; civil engineer with patent for FlexiArch bridge (EJSE)
  • Dr Phillip Matthews – BSc Zoology 1986; President, National College of Ireland (W)
  • Professor Premnarine Misir  – BSSc 1973; Vice-Chancellor University of Fiji
  • Dr Mary McAleese – LLB 1973; 8th President of Ireland; Distinguished Professor in Irish Studies, St Mary’s University, London (SMU)
  • Professor James McWha – BAgr Agricultural Botany 1970; current Vice-Chancellor of University of Rwanda; former Vice-Chancellor University of Adelaide (W)
  • Professor John McWhirter – BSc Mathematics 1970; Distinguished Research Professor in Engineering at Cardiff University
  • Professor Paul Muldoon – BA English 1973; Howard GB Clark '21 Professor at Princeton University
  • Professor Máire O’Neill – MEng Electrical and Electronic Engineering 1999, PhD 2002; Director of Research for Data Security Systems, CSIT
  • Professor Christopher Pressler – BA Modern History 1995; librarian and writer; John Rylands University Librarian & Director of The University of Manchester Library; Professor of Collecting Practices, The University of Manchester (W)
  • Professor John P Ssebuwufu – PhD Chemistry, 1977; Director of Research Programmes at the Association of African Universities
  • Dr Lorraine Sterritt – BEd 1986; President of Salem Academy and College, Winston-Salem, North Carolina, USA 
  • Professor Robert Gray (Robin) Shanks - DSc 1969, LLD 1999. Dean of the Faculty of Medicine from 1986 and Pro-Vice-Chancellor from 1991, Acting Vice Chancellor 1997 - 98; CBE in recognition of his research involving beta blocking drugs.

Top of Page